The Council of the Institute, according to the art. 8 of the Statutes "oversees the management and determines the programme of activities of the Institute according to the general policy established by the General Assembly". The Municipality of Sanremo and the Italian Red Cross are ex officio Council members.


  • Professor Fausto POCAR (Italy)
    Judge, Former President, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, The Hague; Emeritus Professor, University of Milan


  • Ambassador Benoît D’ABOVILLE (France), Vice-President of Fondation pour la Recherche Stratégique, Paris; Former Ambassador and Permanent Representative to NATO
  • Dr. Baldwin DE VIDTS (Belgium), former Legal Advisor to the Secretary-General of NATO, Brussels
  • Professor Edoardo GREPPI (Italy), Professor of International Law and of International Humanitarian Law, Department of Law, University of Torino
  • Professor Michel VEUTHEY (Switzerland), Associate Professor, University of Nice, Sophia-Antipolis
  • Ms Elizabeth WILMSHURST CMG (United Kingdom), Fellow, Royal Institute of International Affairs at Chatham House, London; Former Deputy Legal Adviser at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office of the United Kingdom


  • Ms Christine BEERLI (Switzerland), Vice-President, International Committee of the Red Cross, Geneva
  • Judge Liu DAQUN (People’s Republic of China), Vice-President, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, The Hague
  • Professor Yoram DINSTEIN (Israel), Emeritus Professor, University of Tel Aviv; President of the United Nations Association of Israel
  • Dr. Stefano DONATI (Italy), Director, Master in Development Economics and International Cooperation Ed III, Link Campus University, Rome
  • Brigadier General Dr. Karl EDLINGER (Austria), Legal Adviser of the Austrian Armed Forces
  • Professor Dr. Wolff HEINTSCHEL VON HEINEGG (Germany), Chair of Public Law, European University Viadrina; Vice-President, International Society for Military Law and the Law of War
  • Ambassador Marie JACOBSSON (Sweden), Principal Legal Adviser on International Law, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Stockholm.; Member of the UN International Law Commission
  • Captain Dennis MANDSAGER (USA), JAGC, U.S. Navy (Retired), Emmetsburg, Iowa
  • Colonel Carl MARCHAND (Switzerland), Head, IHL and Human Rights Section, Swiss Armed Forces, Berne
  • Ms Rossella PAGLIUCHI-LOR (Italy), Head, UNHCR’s Global Service Center, Budapest
  • Ambassador Soad SHALABY (Egypt), International Cooperation Advisor, National Council for Women, Cairo
  • Ms Stefania BALDINI, Secretary-General
  • Mr. Mauro GIANCATERINO, Treasurer
President and Council members do not receive any remuneration for their services.